Scroll to top


so shouldn’t it be the best?

Don’t stress about diamond buying. Let us teach you everything you need to know to find the perfect diamond for your budget.

At Unforgettable, we are aware of the emotional and financial investment of buying a diamond. That is why education is so important to us. We want you to understand what you are buying so you can feel confident and excited about your purchase for many years to come. Come in and let us teach you about the Four C’s: Clarity, Color, Cut, and Carat. We will explain how diamonds are graded and show you examples under a microscope so that you can learn, hands-on, in a relaxed setting. Schedule an appointment or just walk in any time. We would love to have the opportunity to help you create an Unforgettable ring!

The 4 Cs of diamond grading are based on a scale created by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) in the 1950s. Today it is considered the universal scale for determining a diamond’s quality and is used all over the world.


Clarity ranges on a scale from Flawless to Included. Some ratings on the scale also have subcategories. For example, Slightly Included (SI) has two subcategories: SI1 and SI2. There are eleven possible clarity grades. Flawless (F): The diamond shows no inclusions or blemishes of any sort under 10X magnification. Internally Flawless (IF): The diamond has no inclusion when examined using 10X magnification, but it may have some minor blemishes. Very Very Slightly Included (VVS1, VVS2): The diamond contains minute inclusions that are difficult to see under 10X magnification. Very Slightly Included (VS1, VS2): The diamond contains minute inclusions such as small crystals, clouds, or feathers when observed under 10X magnification. Slightly Included (SI1, SI2): The diamond contains inclusions–clouds, included crystals, knots, cavities, and feathers–that are noticeable under 10X magnification. Included (I1, I2, I3): The diamond contains inclusions–possibly large feathers or large included crystals–that are obvious under 10X magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance.


Diamond color is graded on a scale from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown). A diamond’s color is graded upside down. The most common colors found in diamonds are yellow and light brown. The less color a stone has the more rare it is and the more valuable it becomes.


Cut and shape are two different attributes of a diamond. The cut of a diamond is what affects it’s ability to return light and sparkle. A diamond’s cut grade evaluates two factors–symmetry and polish. Symmetry takes into account each angle and the facet alignment of the stone. Polish refers to the surface quality and fineness of the finishing of the stone. A diamond’s cut, polish, and symmetry grade will fall in one of five categories—excellent, very good, good, fair or poor.

Carat Weight

Carat weight is often the biggest determining factor in a diamond’s price, and usually the most familiar of the 4 Cs. Larger stones are more rare, and therefore more costly. The relationship between carat weight and cost is exponential. A Carat is made up of 100 points, just like a dollar has 100 pennies. One Carat is very light–the equivalent of 1/5 of a gram.


A certification or report typically comes from a third party laboratory that has graded the diamond prior to us showing it to the client. However, not all laboratories are created equal. Make sure that the laboratory that has graded your diamond is reputable and accurate. Due to GIA’s long and illustrious history in the diamond business, we prefer to show GIA certified diamonds to our clients.

Unforgettable is now offering 6 months differed-interest financing through Synchrony Financial*. Talk to one of our staff for more details.

*Subject to credit approval


    2511 Devine Street Columbia, SC 29205

    (803) 779-3636

    Tuesday through Friday, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
    Saturday, 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.